The Old Settlement Margaret River
69 Bussell Highway, Margaret River
The Bramley School contains historical school paraphernalia, many local photographs and changing displays. In 2015, after many years of restoration work by MRDHS members and volunteers, another Group Settlement building, a “Groupie” house, was officially opened and operates as a museum.
The museum holds a collection of Group Settlement artefacts, dating from between 1921-1935 and is surrounded by farming implements, blacksmith tools, renovated spring carts and an old dairy and milk shed that were used during the same period.
Both of these buildings offer an insight into the history of early life in the district during the early 1920’s and the families that once lived and worked the land.
Tuesday 11:30am – 2:00pm
Thursday 11:30am – 4:00pm
Saturday 10:00am – 3:00pm
Sunday 10:00m – 3:00pm
Ellen Brook Road, Cowaramup
Built by the Bussell Family in 1857, the property has changed very little over time. Now a National Trust listed building, the homestead is open to the public at a small fee and a walk through the house is much like going back in time.
Admittance into the grounds-only is free for all.
For more information about this place and admission into the homestead, visit the Margaret River Region website
Augusta Historical Museum
Blackwood Avenue, Augusta
Established in 1979, the Augusta Historical Museum offers visitors a comprehensive display documenting the rich history of Augusta and Districts since settlement in 1830.
Displays include details of families involved in the 1830s, artefacts from local shipwrecks, from the MC Davies timber empire (1880s to 1915); the local environment, personal effects of early settlers, details of the 1920s group settlements, commemorative china, coins and medals, garments from various eras, church organs and the whale rescue event whichmade headline news around the world.
For more information visit the Margaret River Region website
Old Butter Factory Complex, Peel Terrace, Busselton
The Heritage Butter Factory and Busselton Museum has ten display rooms packed with photographs, equipment and memorabilia which trace the family, social, civic, commercial and maritime history of Busselton.Everything from agriculture to whaling; from crockery, clocks and cameras to sewing machines, travel and transport is included.The one-hectare site is nestled on the banks of the picturesque Vasse River. A replica of the Jetty Rotunda enhances the vista and the exhibits demonstrate Busselton’s diverse agricultural, forestry and maritime history. Special attention is focused on the famous 1920’s Group Settlement Scheme which shaped much of the development of the South West.Visit us, and discover a time now past.
For more information, visit the museum’s website
Darnell’s General Store Rosa Brook
Rosa Brook Road, Rosa Brook
Darnell’s Store in Witchcliffe is in it’s original state, not only externally but internally as well. The store is set out and operated as is was in the 1930s, which gives its unique character and attracts many tourists. Even though it has this old fashioned character and charm, it is still being run as a successful business providing a general store and post office to the community.
Rosa Brook Community Hall
Rosa Brook Road, Rosa Brook
The hall originally opened as a school in 1925 to serve the local group settlement children. It was later used as a community hall and extend to include kitchen facilities and a stage. The hall is frequently used by sporting groups, playground, the CWA and in addition, many social functions are held over there during the year.
St. John the Evangelist Church Osmington
Cnr Osmington Rd & Canebreak Rd, Osmington
St John’s Anglican Church in Osmington was built by “Cotter” Williams. Williams wife although not an Anglican herself, helped organise fundraising events for the erection of the church building, although it was mainly through the generosity of Mrs Rivington in England. The church was opened on 27th December 1933 and dedicated by Bishop Wilson on 2nd February 1934.
The church was adjacent to the school, which has now been removed, and so the church building is the only tangible proof of the existence of the tiny hamlet of Osmington. A plaque to group settlement has been set outside the church and a list of present residents is inside. The church remains open at all time and has remained intact
CWA Hall Rosa Glen
Cnr Rosa Glen Rd & Lucas Rd, Rosa Glen
Only the single teacher’s quarters remains of the old school in Rosa Glen. The building is now used by the Country Women’s Association.